Alabama S Ha Ha Clinton-Dix needed replay review to overturn a targeting penalty that would have resulted in his ejection during the first half of the Alabama-Texas A&M game.
The play in question came on a first-down pass after Alabama took a 21-14 lead over the Aggies.
Replays clearly showed Clinton-Dix tried to make a play on the ball. The two helmets did connect, but only after the all-conference got his hand on the ball and after his shoulder first hit the receiver.
The Crimson Tide forced A&M to punt three plays after the review.
Though the replay clearly showed that Clinton-Dix should not have been called for targeting, NCAA rules preclude the officials for overturning the 15-yard penalty. The only positive that could have come of the replay for Alabama was Clinton-Dix being allowed to stay in the game.
Alabama answered with three consecutive touchdowns to claim a 21-14 lead after Texas A&M jumped out to a 14-0 advantage.