Nov 17, 2012; College Station, TX, USA; Texas A

FWAA 2012 All-America Team Features 11 SEC Selections

The Football Writers Association of America released its 2012 All-America team on Friday. Headlining the offense is Heisman Trophy winner Johnny Manziel. Heisman runner-up, Bronko Nagurski and Maxwell Award winner Manti Te’o appears on the defensive side. This year’s honorees also include two different Outland Trophy winners in 2011 recipient Barrett Jones, and this year’s winner, Luke Joeckel.

Joeckle and Manziel are two of four Texas A&M Aggies selected to the All-America team. Defensive end Damontre Moore and offensive lineman Jake Matthews were also honored. A&M’s four are the most for one one team, with Alabama featuring three: Jones, defensive back Dee Milliner and offensive lineman Chance Warmack.

In total, the SEC landed 11 on the All-America team: South Carolina defensive end Jadeveon Clowney, LSU defensive back Eric Reid, Mississippi State defensive back Johnathan Banks and Georgia linebacker Jarvis Jones join the list.

The Pac-12 and Big 12 are well represented, too. Each running back selection — UCLA’s Johnathan Franklin and Oregon’s Kenjon Barner — comes out of the Pac-12. Missing the cut was a third Pac-12 back, nation-leading rusher Ka’Deem Carey. USC wide receiver Marqise Lee became a unanimous All-American with his selection to the team.

Lee joins Big 12 wide receivers Stedman Bailey (West Virginia) and Terrance Williams (Baylor). Kansas State linebacker Arthur Brown rounds out the Big 12 selections.

The MAC scored big with two All-Americans in Kent State return man Dri Archer, and Bowling Green defensive lineman Chris Jones.


QB Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M (6-1, 200, Fr., Kerrville, Texas)
RB Kenjon Barner, Oregon (5-11, 192, Sr., Riverside, Calif.)
RB Jonathan Franklin, UCLA (5-11, 195, Sr., Los Angeles, Calif.)
WR Stedman Bailey, West Virginia (5-10, 195, Jr., Miami, Fla.)
WR Marqise Lee, USC (6-0, 195, So., Inglewood, Calif.)
WR Terrance Williams, Baylor (6-2, 205, Sr., Dallas, Texas)
OL Jonathan Cooper, North Carolina (6-3, 295, Sr., Wilmington, N.C.)
OL Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M (6-6, 310, Jr., Arlington, Texas)
OL Jake Matthews, Texas A&M (6-5, 305, Jr., Missouri City, Texas)
OL Chance Warmack, Alabama (6-3, 320, Sr., Atlanta, Ga.)
C Barrett Jones, Alabama (6-5, 302, Sr., Germantown, Tenn.)


DL Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina (6-6, 256, So., Rock Hill, S.C.)
DL Chris Jones, Bowling Green (6-1, 293, Sr., Brownsburg, Ind.)
DL Damontre Moore, Texas A&M (6-4, 250, Jr., Rowlett, Texas)
DL Bjoern Werner, Florida State (6-4, 255, Jr., Berlin, Germany)
LB Arthur Brown, Kansas State (6-1, 231, Sr., Wichita, Kan.)
LB Manti Te’o, Notre Dame (6-2, 255, Sr., Laie, Hawaii)
LB Jarvis Jones, Georgia (6-3, 241, Jr., Columbus, Ga.)
DB Johnthan Banks, Mississippi State (6-2, 185, Sr., Maben, Miss.)
DB Dee Milliner, Alabama (6-1, 199, Jr., Millbrook, Ala.)
DB Eric Reid, LSU (6-2, 212, Jr., Geismar, La.)
DB Phillip Thomas, Fresno State (6-1, 215, Sr., Bakersfield, Calif.)


K Cairo Santos, Tulane (5-8, 160, Jr., St. Augustine, Fla.)
P Ryan Allen, Louisiana Tech (6-2, 215, Sr., Salem, Ore.)
KR Dri Archer, Kent State (5-8, 175, Jr., Laurel, Fla.)
PR Venric Mark, Northwestern (5-8, 175, Jr., Tomball, Texas)

Tags: Alabama Crimson Tide Football Texas A&M Aggies

comments powered by Disqus