Ranking every year of the CFP four-team era

The four-team era of the College Football Playoff came to an end with Michigan's 34-13 win over Washington. Where does this 2024 CFP rank among the 10 four-team CFP era?

Michigan Wolverines head coach Jim Harbaugh celebrates
Michigan Wolverines head coach Jim Harbaugh celebrates / Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports
1 of 11

The four-team College Football Playoff era has come to an end with Michigan’s 34-13 win over Washington at NRG Stadium on Monday night. Michigan ends the season 15-0 and becomes the fifth different team to win the national championship since the inception of the playoff in 2015. 

It began with Ohio State beating Oregon and fittingly it ended with Michigan taking down Washington. A lot has changed since 2015 when this thing began, like the fact that all four of those teams will be in the same conference next season, but before we look ahead, let’s take a trip down memory lane and rank the best years of the College Football Playoff from 10-1. 

In all, 15 different teams participated in the four-team playoff over the past decade, and next season the playoff will include 12 teams. The expanded field may lead to more lopsided victories, but that’s not to say we didn’t see any blowouts with the current format. 

Luckily, Washington fought back enough on Monday night to prevent the final game from getting too out of hand, but we’ll start with a CFP where no game was particularly close.