Dec 1, 2012; Ft. Worth, TX, USA; Oklahoma Sooners players huddle and raise a helmet prior to the game against the Texas Christian Horned Frogs at Amon G Carter Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports

Final Four: BCS Champions Tournament 2000 Oklahoma vs. 2010 Auburn

Explosive offense vs. dynamite defense: such is the second of the BCS tournament of champions Final Four match-ups. Cam Newton and the 2010 Auburn Tigers ran past their SEC rival Tennessee Volunteers to reach the semifinals, scoring another victory in the battle of offense vs. defense.

Another formidable opponent awaits. The 2000 Oklahoma Sooners were not the stingiest defense of the BCS era based solely on statistics. However, OU’s ratio of points surrendered to opponent rank might be the best ever.

Moroever, the 2000 Sooners defeated the best statistical team of the period, in the 2011 Alabama Crimson Tide. So as Oklahoma sets up for this Final Four showdown with the 2010 Heisman Trophy winner and his cohorts, keep that in mind.

Also bear in mind how transcendent the 2010 Tiger offense was. Behind historically prolific quarterback Newton, the Tigers boasted a multifaceted attack that kept the speedy defenses around the SEC backpedaling.

Newton was one of three Tiger ball carriers with at least 810 yards, his 1473 setting the pace. Running backs Michael Dyer and Onterio McCalebb provided a dangerous one-two dynamic from the backfield, Dyer as the standout feature back and McCalebb bringing a change-of-pace.

Auburn also had a potent receiving triumvirate in tight end Philip Lutzenkirchen and wide-outs Darvin Adams and Emory Blake. The trio combined for 20 touchdowns and nearly 1700 yards.

However, what Bob Stoops’ championship team accomplished better than perhaps any team in the BCS era was solving top flight offenses. OU faced an offensively proficient lineup akin to the 1929 New Yankees — one heavy hitter after another. But behind the brilliant defensive minds of the Brothers Stoops, Oklahoma mowed down Kansas State, Texas, Nebraska and Florida State like a Hall of Fame pitcher.

Check out great moments from each Final Four participants’ championship campaign:

And cast your ballot below. The winner moves into Monday’s championship:

BCS Final Four: 2000 Oklahoma vs. 2010 Auburn

  • 2010 Auburn Tigers (72%, 354 Votes)
  • 2000 Oklahoma Sooners (28%, 137 Votes)

Total Voters: 491

Loading ... Loading ...

Tags: Auburn Tigers Football Oklahoma Sooners

comments powered by Disqus