Final Week Detmer Vote: The Finalists Are Set


Overall No. 1 Case Keenum stands pat. Kellen Moore surges. Ronnie Hillman is solidified in the top five with a strong showing in San Diego State’s rally vs. Fresno State.

The last of the weekly Detmer Award votes was compiled this week, and the outstanding panel of bloggers have tabbed the finalists. But the Week 14 leader is not in the final five — that would be North Texas’s Lance Dunbar, who had a tremendous showing in the final weekend.

Read on to see how the last weekend of non-automatic qualifying football shook out, and check back to on Friday to see who the winner of the inaugural Detmer Award is.

Brett Hein,

1. Lance Dunbar, RB North Texas — 40 carries for 313 yards and 4 TD
2. Ronnie Hillman, RB San Diego St — 29 carries, 178 yards, 4 TD
3. Riley Nelson, QB BYU — 25-37 for 363 yards, 3 TD 0 INT
4. Kellen Moore, QB Boise State — 28-33 for 313 yards, 3 TD 0 INT
5. Raymond Carter, RB Colorado St — 29 carries, 158 yards, 2 TD filling in for injured Chris Nwoke

#1 Tracy Lampley, WR, Southern Miss- Caught 6 passes for 125 yards and 2 TD and also had 71 yards rushing in Southern Miss’s upset of Houston in the C-USA Championship Game.

#2 Chandler Harnish, QB, NIU- threw 3 TD passes to lead his team back from a 20-0 deficit. Threw for 250 yards and 3 TDs on the day and added 31 yards rushing while leading the Huskies to the MAC Championship.

#3 Kellen Moore, QB, Boise State- Went 28/33 for 313 yds and 3 TDs against an outmanned New Mexico squad.

#4 Ronnie Hillman, RB, San Diego State- Ran for 178 yards and 4 TDs in their 7 point victory over Fresno State.

#5 Ryan Aplin, QB, Arkansas State- Aplin threw for 356 yards and 3 TDs and with this win the Red Wolves finished off their first year under Hugh Freeze at 10-2.

Mike James, Navy Bird Dog

1. Lance Dunbar, North Texas
2. Tracy Lampley, Southern Miss
3. Riley Nelson, BYU
4. Ronnie Hillman, San Diego State
5. Tyler Lantrip, Nevada

Matt Hargelroad,

1. Austin Davis – USM
2. Josh Doctson – WYO
3. Ronnie Hillman – SDSU
4. Lance Dunbar – UNT
5. Tyler Lantrip – NEV

Chad Smith, 7220

1. Kellen Moore QB Boise

2. Riley Nelson QB BYU

3. Lance Dunbar RB North Tex

4. Justin Johnson WR HOU

5. Ronnie Hilman RB SDSU

Kevin McGuire,; College Football Examiner; & Crystal Ball Run

Read the breakdown of Kevin’s ballot here at

1. Kellen Moore

2. Chandler Harnish

3. Tracy Lampley

4. Ronnie Hillman

5. Riley Nelson

Matt Elder, Crystal Ball Run &

1. RB Lance Dunbar-UNT
2. QB Tyler Lantrip-Nevada
3. QB Kellen Moore-Boise State

Pat Johnston,; One-Handed Grab; Founder of the Positive Impact Factor

#1 Lance Dunbar
#2 Ronnie Hillman
#3 Kellen Moore
#4 Tyler Lantrip
#5 Riley Nelson

Kyle Kensing

1. Lance Dunar, North Texas: He closed out the Mean Green’s season with an astounding 313 yards and four touchdowns.

2. Ronnie Hillman, San Diego State: A 178-yard, three touchdown performance to lead a rally would typically garner Ronnie Hillman a first place vote. This was certainly a first place effort from a player likely to be a finalist for this award.

3. Riley Nelson, BYU: The quarterback controversy at BYU was answered resoundingly with Riley Nelson’s stellar performance at Hawaii.

4. Kellen Moore, Boise State: The early season frontrunner fell behind Case Keenum as the weeks progressed, but in picking apart New Mexico on a day Keenum struggled could propel the all-time most winning quarterback to the front of the pack.

5. Tracy Lampley, Southern Miss: Tracy Lampley was the key to Southern Miss’s stunning C-USA Championship upset of Houston, catching a pair of scoring passes and adding some punch via the rush.


Lance Dunbar: 30 points (5)

Kellen Moore: 23 points (2)

Ronnie Hillman: 22 points

Riley Nelson: 15 points

Tracy Lampley: 13 points (1)

Chandler Harnish: 8 points

Tyler Lantrip: 7 points

Austin Davis: 5 points (1)

Josh Doctson: 4 points

Justin Johnson: 2 points

Ryan Aplin: 1 point

Raymond Carter: 1 point


1. Case Keenum, 317 points

2. Kellen Moore, 223 points

3. Ronnie Hillman, 128 points

4. Chandler Harnish, 125 points

5. Bernard Pierce, 92 points

6. Bryant Moniz, 72 points

7. T.Y. Hilton, 63 points

8. Bobby Rainey, 59 points

9. Alex Carder, 50 points

10. Eric Page, 48 points

11. Jordan White, 47 points

12. Casey Pachall, 42 points

13. Vinny Curry, 40 points

14. Lance Dunbar, 39 points

15. Patrick Edwards, 33 points

16. Austin Davis, 31 points

17t. Dominique Davis, 28 points
Brett Smith

19. Branden Oliver

20. Robert Turbin, 25 points

21. Chris Nwoke, 23 points

22. Chuckie Keeton, 22 points

23t. J.J. McDermott, 19 points
Rishard Matthews
Kriss Proctor

26t. Royce Pollard, 15 points
Riley Nelson

27. Ryan Aplin, 14 points

28t. Latavius Murray, 13 points
Tracy Lampley

30. Charles Sims, 12 points

31. David Blackburn, 11 points

32t. Nordly Capi, 10 points
Joe Banyard
Tommylee Lewis
Zac Dysert

36t. Doug Martin, 9 points
Quinton Patton

38t. Chris Coyer, 8 points
Rakeem Cato
Ryan Lindley
Ryan Griffin
Matt Christian

43t. Adonis Thomas, 7 points
Tyler Lantrip
Mike Ball
Sammy Brown
Robbie Rouse

48t. A.J. Graham, 6 points
Tyle Shoemaker
Travis Johnson
Ja’Terian Douglas
Deon Long

53t. Willie Carter, 5 points
Tyler Van Tubbergen
Josh Jarboe
Cody Fajardo
Tyler Tettleton
Shane McClellin
Zach Line
Bryann Harvey
Chazz Anderson

62t. Austin Dantin, 4 points
Josh Doctson
Colby Cameron
Taveon Rodgers
Colby Cameron
Waymon James
Bradley Rutley
Blaine Gautier

70t. Tyler White, 3 points
Tim Jefferson
Brandon Joiner
Titus Davis
GJ Kinne
Vernon Frazier
Cole Beasley
Brady Amack
Darius Johnson
Shaquil Barrett
Eugene Cooper
Dwight Bentley
Andrew Manley
Corey Robinson

85t. Donte Harden, 2 points
Asher Clark
Nick Fanuzzi
Alonzo Harris
Lavonn Brazill
Tavarese Maye
Kendrick Hardy
Morgan Williams
Derek Carr
Keith Wenning
Korey Jones
Trent Steelman
Tyron Carrier
Matt Schilz
Logan Harrell
Lance Lewis

102t. Adam Kennedy, 1 point
Raymond Carter
Zack Kauth
Nick Harwell
Alex Gillett
Jonathan Perry
Mark Lampford
Ryan Radcliff
Cody Hoffman
Morgan Williams
Xavier Rush
Josh Howell
Tim Cornett
Khalil Mack
Julius Warmsley
Kyle Van Noy
Greg Irvin
Willie Snead
Dominique White
Raymond Maples