John Mackey Award List Cut To 33


The John Mackey Award, given annually to the country’s best tight end, has cut their list to 33

More from College Football News

The John Mackey Award is given annually to the country’s best tight end.

Last year, Austin Seferian-Jenkins of the Washington Huskies beat out North Carolina Tar Heels’ star Eric Ebron for the award.

There are again plenty of solid choices this year with O.J. Howard of the Alabama Crimson Tide and Nick O’Leary of the Florida State Seminoles are the most high profile players out there.

On Monday, the John Mackey Award trimmed their list to 33 and you can see those players below:

Rory Anderson – South Carolina
Kennard Backman, UAB
E.J. Bibbs, Iowa State
Gerald Christian, Louisville
Evan Engram, Ole Miss
Billy Freeman, San Jose State
David Grinnage – N.C. State
Connor Hamlett – Oregon State
Mitchell Henry, Western Kentucky
Jeff Heuerman, Ohio State
Bucky Hodges, Virginia Tech
Austin Hooper, Stanford
O.J. Howard, Alabama
Jesse James, Penn State
Malcolm Johnson, Missisippi State
Ben Koyack – Notre Dame
Tyler Kroft, Rutgers
Jimmay Mundine, Kansas
Nick O’Leary, Florida State
Casey Pierce, Kent State
Joel Ruiz, Georgia State
Tyreese Russell, Eastern Michigan
Wes Saxton, South Alabama
Cam Serigne, Wake Forest
Jean Sifrin, Massachusetts
Justin Sinz, Purdue
Jonnu Smith, Florida International
Randall Telfer, USC
Eric Tomlinson, UTEP
C.J. Uzomah, Auburn
Clive Walford, Miami (Fla.)
Alex Welch, Miami (Ohio)
Maxx Williams, Minnesota

Stay tuned to Saturday Blitz as we keep you up to date with the latest news in the world of college football, throughout the season. Need more College Football news? Be sure to bookmark FanSided’s NCAA Football News & Rumors page to stay up to date on the latest action from the world of football.What do you think? Let us know your thoughts in the comments below.

More from Saturday Blitz