Saturday Blitz 2014 College Football Awards: Marcus Mariota, Scooby Wright Lead the Pack

1 of 15

Nov 28, 2014; Tucson, AZ, USA; Arizona Wildcats linebacker Scooby Wright III (33) defends Arizona State Sun Devils running back Demario Richard (4) during the second half of the territorial cup at Arizona Stadium. Arizona won 42-35. Mandatory Credit: Casey Sapio-USA TODAY Sports

It’s that time of year, when we pick who should win every award in college football before they are officially announced.

Obviously, there are multiple awards, sometimes recognizing the same position. As we get set to present our college football awards, they are being handed out by each position. Some of the awards have already been presented, and those along with the awards given to the most outstanding player at each position will also be listed. Other finalists will also be mentioned.

But for this site, the college football awards will simply go to the best players at each position, the most outstanding defensive player, the best player overall, and the coach of the year.

And they will be based on finalists for those awards.

More from Alabama Crimson Tide

Breaking that down, the number of nominees for various awards are spread out across the college football landscape. The winners, for us, get a certain advantage for how their teams are doing, but the teams don’t have to be great for a player to win.

Also, these awards are not based on who the best players at each position truly are. They are based on the top performers at each position throughout the year, and everything was taken into account. That includes statistics, performance in crucial moments, team success, and what each individual has had to work with.

Here are the Saturday Blitz College Football Awards for 2014.

Next: Begin Slideshow