Pac-12 Football: Top 5 Candidates to win Offensive Player of the Year

1 of 6

Sep 6, 2014; Eugene, OR, USA; Oregon Ducks running back Royce Freeman (21) runs the ball against the Michigan State Spartans at Autzen Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Scott Olmos-USA TODAY Sports

Ranking the top five candidates to walk away as the winner of the Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Year for the 2015 college football season.

Marcus Mariota was the runaway preseason favorite to win the Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Year Award and the predictions came true as he won the award and took the Heisman Trophy en route to leading Oregon to the national championship game.

Related: Top 5 Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year Candidates

A new winner will be crowned with Mariota trying to adjust to the NFL, but it could be another Duck who makes it two in a row for Mark Helfrich’s team. Ka’Deem Carey won the award in 2013 and we could see a running back take the honors again with four of the league’s top five rushers returning this year.

More from Arizona Wildcats

Marqise Lee is the only receiver to win since Troy Walters in 1999 so history hasn’t been kind to the position when it comes to winning the award, but it has been to the quarterbacks and two signal-callers crack this top five list.

The Pac-12 prides itself on its reputation for great quarterback play and this year will be no different but the running back depth is as good as it’s been in a long time and could run away with the award.

Before unveiling the top five candidates to win the Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year there are some worthy candidates who were left out because the conference is so flush with talent that limiting it to five was a taxing chore.

Honorable mention: Arizona’s Nick Wilson and Anu Solomon, Arizona State’s D.J. Foster and Colorado’s Nelson Spruce. It was especially difficult to leave off Wilson who had 1,375 yards and 16 touchdowns as a freshman, but the competition is deep in the Pac-12.

Without further ado, here are the top five candidates and be sure to add your thoughts in the comment section below and add to the story there or on our social media accounts.

Next: Jared Goff