Heisman Trophy Watch 2015: Top 15 candidates

1 of 16

Nov 8, 2014; Fort Worth, TX, USA; TCU Horned Frogs quarterback Trevone Boykin (2) warms up before the game against the Kansas State Wildcats at Amon G. Carter Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Tim Heitman-USA TODAY Sports

The top contenders to win the 2015 Heisman Trophy features some proven quarterbacks and rising stars at the position but is this the year of the running back?

Four of the top 10 finishers in the Heisman Trophy vote from last season are back this year as they hope to lift the bronze statue and join college football immortality. Marcus Mariota won the Trophy last year over Melvin Gordon and Amari Cooper and they’re joined by Jameis Winston, Tevin Coleman and Bryce Petty from the top-10 who are now in the NFL.

Next: Top 15 Breakout Candidates to Watch in 2015

That means players like Trevone Boykin, J.T. Barrett and Dak Prescott who finished in the top-eight of voting last year will have a shot at bringing a Heisman to their program.

More from Alabama Crimson Tide

For TCU’s Boykin he hopes to be the first Horned Frog since Davey O’Brien in 1938 to win the Trophy while Mississippi State’s Prescott hopes to be the program’s first winner.

Then there’s Barrett who could face his toughest competition for the Trophy by one of his Ohio State teammates as the Buckeyes look to move into sole possession of first place with their eighth win. Joining Ohio State in that pursuit are the USC Trojans who have their best candidate to win since Reggie Bush won in 2005 and later had his win vacated.

And of course there’s some running backs from across the country who hope to crash the party and be the first back to win since Mark Ingram won in 2009 and some rising stars from the quarterback position.

Without further ado, here are the top 15 Heisman Trophy candidates to enter the 2015 college football season.

After reading through the list of candidates, please continue the conversation by adding your reaction and opinion in the comments section and tell us who you believe should be the favorite for the most prestigious individual honor in college football.

Next: Begin Slideshow