Ranking every year of the CFP four-team era

The four-team era of the College Football Playoff came to an end with Michigan's 34-13 win over Washington. Where does this 2024 CFP rank among the 10 four-team CFP era?
Michigan Wolverines head coach Jim Harbaugh celebrates
Michigan Wolverines head coach Jim Harbaugh celebrates / Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports
5 of 11

490. . 2015. 7. 2015. Rose Bowl. Sugar Bowl. 2015. player.

  • National Championship: Ohio State 42 Oregon 20
  • Rose Bowl: No. 2 Oregon 59 No. 3 Florida State 20
  • Sugar Bowl: No. 4 Ohio State 42 No. 1 Alabama 35

The first College Football Playoff was certainly a success, but it didn’t produce any all-time classic games. The best was Ohio State’s Sugar Bowl win over Alabama. The Buckeyes went into the game with Cardale Jones, their third-stringer, at quarterback. 

Jones went 18/35 for 243 yards and a touchdown with one pick, but Ezekiel Elliot stole the show. The sophomore running back went for 230 yards and two scores on 20 carries. 

Ohio State led 21-20 after Michael Thomas caught a touchdown pass with 13 seconds remaining before the half. The Buckeyes struck for two more touchdowns to open the third quarter including a pix-six by Steve Miller to extend their lead to 34-21 and it proved to be insurmountable for Blake Sims and Alabama.