Unitas Award cuts list to 15


The Johnny Unitas Award is handed out to the top senior  quarterback in the country.

More from College Football News

Players that seniors academically but not on the football field are eligible meaning players like the reigning Heisman Trophy Winner, Jameis Winston of the Florida State Seminoles, are not interested.

On Thursday, the Unitas Award cut their list of 27 players down to 15.

You can see the remaining 15 below.

  • Anthony Boone, Duke
  • Shane Carden, East Carolina
  • Rakeem Cato, Marshall
  • Connor Cook, Michigan State
  • Cody Fajardo, Nevada
  • Connor Halliday, Washington State
  • Kevin Hogan, Stanford
  • Brett Hundley, UCLA
  • Cody Kessler, USC
  • Sean Mannion, Oregon State
  • Marcus Mariota, Oregon
  • Bryce Petty, Baylor
  • Dak Prescott, Mississippi State
  • Jake Rudock, Iowa
  • Bo Wallace, Ole Miss

These are the players who were cut from the list.

  • C.J. Brown, Maryland
  • Jacob Coker, Alabama
  • Jeff Driskel, Florida
  • Devin Gardner, Michigan,
  • Garrett Grayon, Colorado State
  • Jerry Lovelock, Praire View A&M
  • Hutson Mason, Georgia
  • Braxton Miller, Ohio State
  • Trevor Siemian, Northwestern
  • J.W. Walsh, Oklahoma State
  • Jake Waters, Kansas

Who do you think takes home the award? Let us know.

Stay tuned to Saturday Blitz as we keep you up to date with the latest news in the world of college football, throughout the season. Need more College Football news? Be sure to bookmark FanSided’s NCAA Football News & Rumors page to stay up to date on the latest action from the world of football.

More From FanSided

Mack Brown will decide on future in December
Georgia Bulldogs’ Malcolm Mitchell set to make his season debut
Notre Dame CB KeiVarae Russell: ‘This school is becoming ridiculous’
Utah State QB Chuckie Keeton likely out for the season
Alabama’s Blake Sims likely to play against Ole Miss