Phil Steele’s preseason 2015 All-Big 12 teams


Phil Steele released his preseason 2015 All-Big 12 teams so let the debate begin.

The Big 12 couldn’t decide who their “one true champion” was last year with TCU and Baylor having identical conference records and both teams were left out in the cold when it came to the College Football Playoff.

More from Baylor Bears

It was a debate that lasted deep into the college football offseason about which team was the king of the conference and which was the most deserving of being in the Playoff but now fans of the Big 12 can shift their debate from the best teams in the league to the best players.

Longtime college football guru Phil Steele unveiled his preseason All-Big 12 teams on Monday and Baylor leads the way with seven selections on the first-team offense and defense. Of course the two biggest offensive stars in the conference, TCU quarterback Trevone Boykin and Oklahoma running back Samaje Perine made the first-team but the rest of the skill positions feature a lot of unproven talent.

Defensively, Baylor’s Shawn Oakman and Oklahoma’s Eric Striker and Zack Sanchez headline the Big 12 first-team but just like the offense, the rest of the defenders on the second-fourth team are a fluid situation and a number of surprises could occur as the season plays out.

Check out Steele’s preseason All-Big 12 team below and visit his website for more great college football content, including his preseason All-American teams.


1st TEAM2nd TEAM3rd TEAM4th TEAM
QBTrevone Boykin, TCUSeth Russell, BaylorPatrick Mahomes, TexasTechMason Rudolph, Oklahoma St
RBShock Linwood, BaylorAaron Green, TCURushel Shell, West VirginiaAlex Ross, Oklahoma
RBSamaje Perine, OklahomaDeAndre Washington, Texas TechJohnathan Gray, TexasWendell Smallwood, West Virginia
WRSterling Shepard, OklahomaKolby Listenbee, TCUJakeem Grant, TexasTechDeante Gray, TCU
WRCorey Coleman, BaylorKD Cannon, BaylorDevin Lauderdale, TexasTechJay Lee, Baylor
WRJosh Doctson, TCUAllen Lazard, Iowa StBrandon Sheperd, Oklahoma StDeDe Westbrook, Oklahoma
TEGlenn Gronkowski, Kansas StTre’Von Armstead, BaylorMark Andrews, OklahomaJeremy Seaton, Oklahoma St
CKyle Fuller, BaylorTyler Orlosky, West VirginiaJoey Hunt, TCUTy Darlington, Oklahoma
OLSpencer Drango, BaylorNila Kasitati, OklahomaJamelle Naff, TCUBrady Foltz, TCU
OLSedrick Flowers, TexasBlake Muir, BaylorBoston Stiverson, Kansas StJarell Broxton, Baylor
OLAlfredo Morales, Texas TechHalapoulivaati Vaitai, TCUKent Perkins, TexasJared Kaster (C), Texas Tech
OLLe’Raven Clark, Texas TechCody Whitehair, Kansas StLarry Mazyck, KansasDaniel Burton, Iowa State


1st TEAM2nd TEAM3rd TEAM4th TEAM
DEShawn Oakman, BaylorCharles Tapper, OklahomaJimmy Bean, Oklahoma StBranden Jackson, Texas Tech
DTAndrew Billings, BaylorBeau Blackshear, BaylorDesmond Jackson, TexasVincent Taylor, Oklahoma St
DTDavion Pierson, TCUHassan Ridgeway, TexasKyle Rose, West VirginiaTravis Britz, Kansas St
DEEmmanuel Ogbah, Oklahoma StPete Robertson, Texas TechTerrell Lathan, TCUJames McFarland, TCU
LBEric Striker, OklahomaSeth Jacobs, Oklahoma StElijah Lee, Kansas StLuke Knott, Iowa St
LBNick Kwiatkoski, West VirginiaTaylor Young, BaylorMike Mitchell, Texas TechPeter Jinkens, Texas
LBRyan Simmons, Oklahoma StDevante Bond, OklahomaDalton Santos, TexasMalik Jefferson, Texas
LBDominique Alexander, OklahomaJordan Evans, OklahomaJake Love, KansasMike Freeze, TCU
CBZack Sanchez, OklahomaKevin Peterson, Oklahoma StNigel Tribune, Iowa StJustis Nelson, Texas Tech
CBDuke Thomas, TexasXavien Howard, BaylorDanzel McDaniel, Kansas StRanthony Texada, TCU
SOrion Stewart, BaylorSteven Parker, OklahomaDylan Haines, TexasKJ Dillon, West Virginia
SKarl Joseph, West VirginiaDante Barnett, Kansas StDravon Henry, West VirginiaJordan Sterns, Oklahoma St


1st TEAM2nd TEAM3rd TEAM4th TEAM
KJosh Lambert, West VirginiaMatthew McCrane, Kansas StJaden Oberkrom, TCUBen Grogan, Oklahoma St
PTaylor Symmank, Texas TechColin Downing, Iowa StNick O’Toole, West VirginiaEthan Perry, TCU
KRAlex Ross, OklahomaMorgan Burns, Kansas StJakeem Grant, Texas TechShelton Gibson, West Virginia
PRCameron Echols-Luper, TCUSterling Shepard, OklahomaJordan Thompson, West VirginiaDominique Heath, Kansas St

Next: Top 20 Classic College Footbal Uniforms

More from Saturday Blitz